Federal Skilled Worker

Federal Skilled Worker

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Obtain Canadian permanent residency with this express entry program.

The Federal Skilled Worker Program is under Canada's economic immigration category and gives opportunities to skilled workers to become permanent residents in Canada.

Minimum Eligibility Criteria 


  • Obtain at least 67 points under the program's selection factor grid;
  • Work Experience: One year of continuous full-time or equivalent paid work experience in the past 10 years in a skilled occupation classified under the National Occupational Classification (NOC) skill level 0, A or B;
  • Language Ability: Verified language ability equivalent to Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 in English or French across all abilities (listening, speaking, reading and writing); and
  • Education: Canadian educational credential (certificate, diploma, or degree) or foreign credential with an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report.

Settlement Funds


After the Invitation to Apply (ITA) is issued, the federal skilled worker will need to prove that they can become economically independent in Canada with their family members.


Medical Examinations


IRCC encourages federal skilled worker candidates and their family members to complete their medical examinations as soon as an ITA is issued. Medical exam results must be valid at the time of applying for permanent residency and when arriving in Canada.



Applicants must obtain a security clearance as part of the Canadian immigration application process to prove that they are admissible to Canada.


Processing Time


IRCC aims to process complete federal skilled worker applications in six months or less.


Get your customized British Columbia Business Immigration proposal by connecting with TWA right now!